Tipperary Women’s Mini Marathon Sept 27 2015

Tipperary Mini Marathon
Main photo features; 3rd Place Aine Roche, Cathaoirleach Seamus Hannifan, Winner Siobhan Doherty, Runner Up Sally Forristal and Fionuala McGeever, Chair Tipp Mini Marathon Committee.

Spirits were high on Sunday 27th September, amongst the hundreds of women who entered the 2015 Tipperary Women’s Mini Marathon organised by Tipperary Sports Partnership in conjunction with Clonmel AC and supported each year by the Irish Sports Council. Banna Cluain Meala added to the wonderful atmosphere as they entertained before the warm up provided by Kool Schools. Cllr. Seamus Hannifan officially started the event at 11am where athletes were led along the course by the lead car sponsored by Barlow Motors.

The first runner back to finish under the West Gate was Siobhan Doherty, in a time of 35.50 followed by Sally Forristal in a time of 39.32. Third place went to Aine Roche in a time of 39.45. Fourth was Anne Marie Boland in 42.07. Fifth was Mary Molloy in 42.46 and sixth was Stephanie Johnson in 42.41. Rosaleen O’Leary took the honours in the wheelchair category. All the participants both runners and walkers were back in a time of under 2 hours 20mins. Many participants enjoyed a well earned massage by South Tipp Physiotherapy after the event.

Meet and Train Groups supported by Tipperary Sports Partnership that took part included Clonmel AC, Cahir, Ballingarry, Thurles, Nenagh, Canon Hayes (Tipp Town), Moyne AC, Carrick on Suir, Fethard and Buggy Fitness. The 2015 Tipperary Mini Marathon was supported by a groundswell of local businesses and civic organisations. Refreshments were provided by Dunnes & Clonmel Oil, with an array of business sponsoring spot prizes. There was huge praise for the superb organisation and months of careful preparation from the hard working committee which was led by Valerie Connolly and Elaine Cullinan of Tipperary Sports Partnership. The organising committee included representatives from Tipperary Sports Partnership, Tipperary County Council, Tipperary ETB, Clonmel Gardaí, LIT Tipperary, Tipperary County Athletics, Clonmel AC, Tipp FM and Tipperary Civil Defence.

Organisers Elaine Cullinan and Valerie Connolly TSP commented ‘A big thank you to the town of Clonmel for getting behind the event and to our many volunteers who are key to the success of the event. Well done to each and every participant, you have all had great achievements and it’s great to see the smiles at the finish line. The winners of the €200 prize for the largest group to enter that were fundraising for a charitable cause was the Cashel based ‘Ultimate Warrior Princesses’ who are raising funds for the ‘Sean Doran fund’. Well done to all of this group and we wish you the very best of luck with the continued fundraising’.

All chip times provided by Premier Timing and photographs supplied by Tipperary Photos.

Rathfarnham 5k 2015 – Results

Rathfarnham 5k 2015 – Results


Tipperary Womens Mini Marathon

Tipperary Womens Mini Marathon


You May Also Like