Race Report: Roads and Off-Road

July 31, 2023


On a quiet weekend for road racing, Matthew McLaughlin of  Foyle Valley AC won the Danny McDaid 15km in Letterkenny AC with a time of 50 mins 42 secs. 

Shane O’Donnell of Rosses AC was second in 51:19 and Philip McHugh of Letterkenny AC third in 52:49. First woman was Noeleen Scanlon of Letterkenny AC in 54:38.  Judith Storm was second in 57:02 and Sinead Lambe of Metro St Brigid’s AC third in 57:15. 


Mountain running international Cillian Mooney of Dundrum South Dublin was the winner of the Keash King of the Hill 10km at Ballymote, Co Sligo on Saturday (July 29). Mooney finished in 33:24, with Ian Conroy of Raheny Shamrock AC, another experienced mountain runner, second in 34:03. First woman in 46:08 was Mathona Conheady. Laurie Douglas was second in 47:40 and Karolina Bernecka third in 48:56.  Winners of the 5km were juvenile athletes Diarmuid Carty in 20:09 and Emily McGettrick of Corran AC  in 26:53. 

Peter Brandon Somba of host club Dunboyne AC was a comfortable winner of the Carton Trail 6km, in Co Meath on Thursday (July 27) with a time of 19 mins 49 secs. Second in 21:11 was Allan Clarke of St Brigid’s AC in 21:11 while third in 21:19 was Tom Feeley of Trim AC

First woman was Breffni Kelly of Clane AC  in 23:14, with Laura Buckley of Dunboyne AC a close second in 23:18, and Laura Cullen of Civil Service AC third in 24:06.  Dunboyne was first women’s team ahead of Civil Service AC and Trim AC, with Trim AC first of the men’a teams. Dunboyne AC was second and Celbridge AC third. 


At the Churchtown South 4-Mile in Co Cork, Tony Forristal was the winner in 20 mins 51 secs, followed by his East Cork AC clubmate James McCarthy in 21:04 and Donal Coakley of Leevale AC in 21.06. Lizzie Lee of Leevale AC was seventh overall and first woman in 22:32 followed by Michelle Kenny, also Leevale, 23:39 and Linda Kelly of Carrigaline AC in 25:26. 


Sean Doran of Harrier Products was the winner of the SDCC BHAA 6km held at Kiltipper Park, Tallaght on Wednesday (July 26) with a time of 20 mins 26 secs. Joe Cocoman, a visitor from Cork BHAA, was second in 20:52 and Kate McDonald, also Cork BHAA, third and first woman in 21:26. Third man was Sean McCreery of the Accountants group in 21:59. 

Sinead Tighe was second woman in 25:33, with Niamh Garvey of the Teachers team third in 27:01. 


Sean Mulryan of Castlegar AC in 17 mins 13 secs and Aisling O’Connor of Edenderry AC in 18:40 were the winners of the Run the Racecourse 5km,  Round 1,  at Fairyhouse on the same evening.


Alex Ainsworth of Crusaders AC in 17:03 and Cristin Scollard of  Dublin City Harriers in 18:23 were the winners of the 5km at the Dublin Summer Parkwest 10km/5km at Parkwest on Tuesday (July 25).

Winner of the 10km in 34:07 was Yoan Kerfridin. First woman was Jennifer O’Sullivan in 40:56. 



Philip Goss was the winner of the Giant’s Trail Race,  on an increasingly wet evening night at the Dub Playing Fields,  Upper Malone Rd, Belfast on Friday (July 28).

Goss’s time of 33 mins 39 secs for a six-mile course that takes in forest trails, pastures and the Lagan towpath, put him well over two minutes clear of the chasers led by Terence Murphy in 36:22 and Jamie Shingler in 37:42.  Finishing almost together were Karen Wilton who was first woman in 42:34 and Judith Lonnen second woman in 42:35. Third woman in 43:11 was Shileen O’Kane.

Related News