Weekly Roads Roundup - Duffy wins Kilbeggan, and Ryan Ellis wins Run for Dunne

August 07, 2023

Conor Duffy of Glaslough Harriers  ran a time of 50 mins 25 secs to win the Kilbeggan 10-Mile in Aghamore, Co Westmeath on Sunday (August 6).

Gerry Forde of Kilkenny City Harriers was second in 51:07  and Kyle Doherty third in 52:04.  Sixth and first M40 was Eoin Flynn of Rathfarnham WSAF AC in 52:55. First woman was Grace Lynch of Iveragh AC in 56:12. Ciara Hickey, winner of the Terenure 5 earlier this year, was second  and first W40 in 56:30. Dee O’Keeffe, like  Hickey a member of Brothers Pearse AC, was third in 65:43.

Also on Sunday, Anthony Brady with a time of 83 mins 30 secs led home 254 finishers at the Inner City Runners 21km  on a lapped course based at Henrietta House in northside Dublin.

A close second in 83:36 was Brian Kelly of Raheny Shamrock AC, while third in 84:10 was Anthony O’Brien.  Finishing eighth and first woman in 89:45 was Mary Walsh. Sinead Cowan of the host club  Inner City Runners was second in 90:38 and Carmel Ward of Raheny Shamrock AC third in 93:28.

In a  10km dominated by women,  Yumiko Bejarano was  the winner in 35:53, with Colm Cassidy of Raheny Shamrock AC second  and first man in 37:07 and Siobhan Eviston, also Raheny Shamrock, third in 38:34. The top three in the 5km were all women - Julianna Silva in 28.00, Niamh Hassett in 28:31 and Tracey Dowling in 30:52. Fourth and first man was Noely Hanney in 31:36.

In Co Kerry, Carl Lenihan of West Limerick AC was the winner of the Banna Run 10km at Ardfert in 33 mins 51 secs. First woman was Aoife O’Connor of Raheny Shamrock AC in 40:58.  Tommy Arthur won the 5km in 16:28; Amy Pollman Daamen of An Riocht AC was first woman in 18.00.

Daniel Ryan Ellis of Nenagh Olympic and Siobhan O’Doherty of Borrisokane AC were the winners of the Run with Cillian 10km on Sunday in Borrisokane, Co Tipperary.  Their times were 34:44 and 39:08.  The race was in aid of Paralympian Cillian Dunne of  Borrisokane AC, who duly won the 5km in 24.40. Joan Stakelum was first woman.

A day earlier, Patrick McColl in 86:19 was the winner of the half marathon at the Scrabo Trail runs on Saturday (August 5). Second and first woman in 94:07 was Mary Slocum of Ward Park Runners. Danny Bradley of Orangegrove AC won the 10km in 37:09, with Fiona McQuillan of North Down AC first woman in 41:06, while in the 5km, the winners were David Coffey in 19:42 and Willow Farrington of Scrabo Striders in 24.00.

At the Stanley Reid Classic 5-Mile, at Loughry Campus in Cookstown, Kieran Kelly of Raheny Shamrock AC was the winner in 25 mins 21 secs. Ricky Johnston of Jog Lisburn was second in 27:12 and Aidan O’Hagan of Strive Racing third in 27:50. First woman in 30:54 was Nadine McIntyre of Enniskillen RC. Kathleen Law of Ballymena Runners was second in 31:53 and Patricia O’Hagan of St Peter’s AC, Lurgan, third in 32.06.

In other Saturday races, Eileen McCullagh of Thurles Crokes was the winner of the ARRA AFC Garrykennedy 10km in Nenagh, Co Tipperary,   with a time of 42:15. Second and first man in 44:19 Eugene Duff from Greystones.

Seamus McSweeney of St Nicholas AC was the winner of the Adrigole 5-Mile, Beara Peninsula, Co Cork,  in 29 mins 52 secs. First woman in 36:54 was  Deirdre O’Sullivan  of Beara AC in 36:54.

At the Breffni 3 Provinces Challenge, in Arva, Co Cavan, Colin Beades in 83:44 and Aoife Barry in 99:17 were the winners of the half Marathon, while Colm McKenna and Edel Nolan proved best in the 10km with  times of 43:54 and 45.00 respectively.

Lee O’Boyle  was the winner of the Waterfoot to Ballycastle trail marathon  with his time of 3 hrs 54 mins taking 30 minutes off the previous best time. Second in 4:05 was Alan Ritchie,  with Matt O’Kane third.  First woman was Nicola Frizelle, followed by Alanna Rowntree.

Related News