Donegan Triumphs at Michael Manning Memorial Dunshaughlin 10K

June 24, 2024

The 42nd edition of the Michael Manning Memorial Dunshaughlin 10K, named after the late Michael Manning, a founding member of Dunshaughlin A.C., took place on the evening of June 22nd. Known as one of Ireland's oldest and fastest 10K running competitions, the event is celebrated for its rapid course, drawing numerous athletes aiming to achieve personal best performances.

In the men's race, spectators witnessed a thrilling finish as William Fitzgerald of Craughwell A.C. edged out Conor Duffy of Glaslough Harriers A.C. and Aaron Hanlon of Drogheda and District A.C. Fitzgerald claimed victory in a razor-close contest with a time of 30:09, just one second ahead of Duffy's 30:10 finish. Hanlon closely followed in 30:11, rounding out the top three.

The women's race saw Danielle Donegan of Tullamore Harriers A.C., a rising star who placed 10th in the U23 7,000m race at the European Cross Country Championships in Brussels in December, dominate with a strong performance. Donegan crossed the finish line first in 34:15. She was closely followed by Meghan Ryan of Dundrum South Dublin A.C., who finished in 34:28, and Ciara Hickey of Brothers Pearse A.C., who took third place with a time of 35:00.

Men's Top Finishers:

  1. William Fitzgerald, Craughwell A.C. - 30:09
  2. Conor Duffy, Glaslough Harriers A.C. - 30:10
  3. Aaron Hanlon, Drogheda and District A.C. - 30:11

Women's Top Finishers:

  1. Danielle Donegan, Tullamore Harriers A.C. - 34:15
  2. Meghan Ryan, Dundrum South Dublin A.C. - 34:28
  3. Ciara Hickey, Brothers Pearse A.C. - 35:00

Image: Perri Williams 

Related News