Race Report: Friday Night Racing

July 24, 2023

Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers was the winner of the  Bob Burke 4-Mile at Grange, Fermoy Co Cork in 19 mins 40 secs. Second was James McCarthy of East Cork AC  in 20:36, with Donal Coakley of Leevale AC a close third in 20:39. First woman was Aoife Cooke of Eagle AC in 22:34. Leevale AC’s Michelle Kenny was second in 23:21 followed by her clubmate Marie Howard  in 26:11 

Keith Donagher of Rathfarnham WSAF AC and Gillian Earley were the winners of the 

Donadea 10km, Co Kildare,  on Friday (July 21).

Donagher won the race, held around Donadea Forest Park,  in 33 min 58 secs, with Clane AC’s Gavin Kelly second in 34:05 and Vincent McGuinness of Crusaders AC third in 34:15. Earley finished 11th overall in 42:03 followed by Donna Mahon of Rathfarnham WSAF in 44:24 and Niamh Garvey of Brothers Pearse AC in 46:04. 

Winners of the 5km were Cathal McCarron of host club Donadea AC in 16:34 and Katie McElroy in 22:51. 

Winners at the Rhode 5km, the seventh round of the Offaly 5km Road Series, were Jack Moran of Mullingar Harriers in 14:59  and Mary Mulhare of Portlaoise AC in 16:35. 

At the Ballinameela 5km in Co Waterford, Dermot Gorman of Carrick-on-Suir AC won a chase for the line with Pat Fitzgerald of West Waterford AC, with both men given times of 15:43.7. Kealey Tideswell of Clonmel AC was first woman in 17:59, with Kate Veale of West Waterford AC second in 18:16. The race was the final round of the West Waterford Summer Series.

Stephen Moore and Siobhan Daly were the winners of the Kilgobnet 4-Mile in Beaufort, Killarney, Co Kerry. Moore finished in 22 mins 10 secs and Daly in 25:37.

Timothy Johnston of Annadale Striders led home 705 finishers at the Sea 2 Sky 10km from  Newcastle prom in Co Down. His time was in 34:01. First woman in 40:34 was Gillian McCrory of St Peter’s AC.  

Related News