Race report: Irish Runner 10 Mile and Duleek 10k stand out

July 24, 2023

John Travers of Donore Harriers and Meghan Ryan of Dundrum South Dublin made it a Dublin double at the Irish Runner 10-Mile Challenge held in the Phoenix Park on Sunday (July 23).  

On a tricky course, Travers did well to break 50 minutes winning the race in 49  mins 57 seconds. David Mansfield of Clonmel AC was second in 50:33 and Emmet Jennings of DSD AC third in 50:40. Travers was also leading Donor eHarriers to senior team victory over Liffey Valley AC and Leevale AC

Ryan was a clear winner of the women’s race with a time of 58:03. Her clubmate Fiona Clinton was second in 59:15 and Kealy Tideswell of Clonmel AC – running her second race in three days –third in 59:25.  DSD AC were the team winners head of Dunboyne AC and Sli Cualann AC.

In the masters’ team categories, Kerry club An Riocht AC was first M35, and Inishowen AC first M50. In a closely-fought W35 competition, Newbridge AC beat Donore Harriers on count-back with Raheny Shamrock third. Mayo AC was first of the W50 teams. 

A total of 1,424 completed the race which also doubled as a national championships.

In Co Louth, Peter Brandon Somba of Dunboyne AC returned to winning ways with victory in the Duleek 10km with a time of  32 mins 18 secs. Second in 32:40 was Aaron Smith of Cilles AC  with Robin Mooney of Sli Cualann AC third in 32:56.  Barbara Murray of Glaslough Harriers was the first woman and first W40 in 42:49. Nina Holmes of Crusaders AC was second in 43:14 and Susan Gannon third and first W50 in 45:18. 

At a well-supported Galbally 5-mile and 5km,  in Dungannon, Co Tyrone, Martin McKenna of Armagh AC won the 5-Mile in 27:29 with Gillian McCrory of St Peter’s AC first woman in 30:23. Winners of the 5km were David Graham of Mallusk Harriers in 18:31 and Tara Jayne Murphy of Keep ‘Er Lit AC in 20:45.

On Saturday (July 22), Scott Rankin of Foyle Valley AC was a clear winner of the Larne Coast Road 10km, in Co Antrim.  Rankin finished in 32:19, with Ricky Johnston of Jog Lisburn RC second in 32:50 and local athlete Jordan Heron of Larne AC third in 33:01. First woman was Ivana Anderson in 35:08, followed by Elisoa Crawford of North Belfast Harriers in 37:34 and Debbie McConnell, also North Belfast Harriers, in 38:39. 

In Castleblayney, Co Monaghan, Mark McNally, and Natasha Scott made it a double victory for Glaslough Harriers. McNally led home over 200 finishers in 59 mins 36 secs, while Scott was the first woman in 66:58.

Further south, Peter McGovern won the Brandon Bay Run 10km in  Co Kerry in 37 mins 1 secs. Second and first woman was Paula Fernandez Perez in 39:17.  

Related News