Race report: Local Track and Juveniles

July 24, 2023

Cathal Doyle of Clonliffe Harriers clocked a time of 1:48.51 to win the men’s 800m  at the British Milers Meet held at the Mary Peters Track, Belfast, on Wednesday (July 19).  

Leevale AC’s Charlie O’Donovan was second in 1:49.06 and Roland Surlis of Annalee AC was third in 1:49.30.

American visitor Michaela Meyer won the women’s A 800m in 2:02.91, followed by Jenna Bromell of Emerald AC in 2:03.42.

Over 1500m , Callum Morgan of Belfast Candour AC was second with a time of 3:44.83 behind the Australian Will Lewis who finished in 3:42.67. Third in 3:45.97 was Andrew Milligan of North Belfast Harriers, followed closely by Neil Johnston of Annadale Striders in 3:46.17.

Ellie Hartnett of UCD AC won the women’s A 1500m in 4:20.11,  with  Niamh Kearney of Raheny Shamrock AC  second in 4:24.20, Rebekah Osborne of Dromore AC third in 4:25.52 and junior athlete Lucy Forster of Willowfield AC fourth in 4:26.65. 

In the men’s A 3000m, Mitchell Byrne of Rathfarnham WSAF AC finished third in 8:02.85, followed by Oisin Spillane in 8:12.44. Conall McClean of St Malachy’s AC was sixth in 8:12.95 and Eoin Everard of Kilkenny City Harriers seventh and first M35 in 8:13.33. 

Jodie McCann of Dublin City Harriers won the women’s 3000m in 9:29.93 followed by Aoife Ó Cuill of St Coca’s AC in 9:31.20.

Louise Gaffney of Rathfarnham WSAF AC ran a smart race to win the combined A/B 1500m at the seventh Dublin Graded Track and Field meet of the season at Tallaght on Wednesday (July 19). 

Gaffney caught early leader Sorcha McAllister of Dublin City Harriers in the race for the line to finish in 4 mins 48.89 secs. Second in 4:49.82 was McAllister with Ellen Byrne, also DCH, third in 4:54.36.

Jared Murray won the A men’s 1500m in 4:05.38, followed by Kevin Moore of Dundrum AC in 4:07.71 and Ieuan Hopkins of Brothers Pearse AC in 4:09.62.

Fastest in the women’s 200m series of races was Aobh Forde of Dundrum South Dublin AC with a time of 25.69 secs.  Kenny Ogundipe of UCD AC  was quickest of the men in 23.53, with Dean Nolan of Tallaght AC a close second in 23.81.

In the field, the performance of the night came from Anna Gavigan of LSA AC who threw 47.20 in the discus.


Among the eye-catching results at the final weekend of the All Ireland Juvenile Track and Field Championships in Tullamore (July 22-23) was a victory in the girls’ U19  1500m for Kirsti Foster of Willowfield Harriers in 4.37.95.

Winning the U19 boys’ race was David Williams of St Senan’s AC in 4:01.53.

In the sprints, Leevale AC’s Fatima Amusa won both the U18 100m and 200m. Winning the boys’ U19 200 was Brendan O’Leary of Lios Tuathail AC, while in the U19 400m hurdles, Fintan Dewhirst of Tir Chonaill AC,  silver medal winner at the European U18 Championships last summer, was the winner in  54.65 secs. In the U19 girls’ 400m hurdles, Victoria Amiadamen’s time of 61.03 secs was a championships record. Amiadamen is a member of Dooneen AC.  

Related News