Dundrum AC Shine at Streets of Kilkenny 5k and County Intermediate Road Championship

April 02, 2024


The annual Streets of Kilkenny 5k, hosted by Kilkenny City Harriers was held on Thursday 28th of March at 7.30pm. This is a very fast flat 5k around the medieval city of Kilkenny. Weather conditions were very favourable with it being a nice dry night for running. It is a two lap course starting and finishing at the parade.

We had two athletes take part.

Dymphna Ryan continuing her fine form, was 3rd lady to cross the finish line in a time of 16.56 and Tish Ryan also had a great race in a time of 20.45.


The County Intermediate Road Championship was held in Galbally on Sunday 31st March and was hosted by Mooreabbey Milers. The women's race was a 4k and the men ran 8k

It was a very wet day with rain throughout both races. The course was a very hilly one but had a nice downhill finish. We had 16 Athletes from the club compete.

First home for the club in the women's 4k race was 4th Mary Keane in a fantastic time of 15.46, followed on by 5th Catherine Fogarty 16.06, 6th Tish Ryan 16.13, 8th Karen Coughlan 16.32, 14th Emily Leahy 17.08 and Mairead Julian 17.12.

Our ladies team consisting of Mary, Catherine & Tish won Silver.

Karen, Emily & Mairead were on the B team and they finished 4th.

In the men's 8k race first home for the club and in 3rd place was Barry Hartnett in a brilliant time of 28.10 and securing the bronze medal. He was followed on by 4th Philly O Dwyer 28.32, 5th Eamon Morrissey 28.34, 6th Tom O Connell, 10th John Ryan, 30.00, 13th Martin Keane 30.16, 18th Darren Allison 30.43, 26th Ruaidhri Devitt 32.08, 31st Jim Halley 33.09 and 35th Tommy Byrnes 35.04.

Our men's team consisting of Barry, Philip, Eamon & Tom won Gold.

John, Martin, Darren & Ruaidhri were on the B team and they finished 4th.

Next Sunday the 7th of April, the County Junior & Senior Road Championship will take place in Templemore.

Featured Image: Dundrum AC Ladies at the County Intermediate Road Championship in Galbally on Sunday 31st March.L-R: Catherine Fogarty, Mary Keane, Karen Coughlan, Tish Ryan, Mairead Julian & Emily Leahy.

Related News