Ireland's Triumphant 2024 European Masters Athletics – Indoor Championships

March 25, 2024

Team Ireland showcased extraordinary talent and determination at the 2024 European Masters Athletics – Indoor Championships held in Torun, Poland, from March 17th to 23rd. With a remarkable display of skill and prowess, the Irish contingent clinched a total of 62 medals, comprising 23 gold, 18 silver, and 21 bronze. This outstanding performance secured Ireland a brilliant 7th position in the overall medal standings out of 38 participating nations.

The standout performances from Team Ireland included several remarkable achievements. John McDermott of Sligo AC, competing in the M80 category, etched his name in the record books by clinching triple gold in the 400m, 60m Hurdles, and Pentathlon. His feat in the 400m, clocking a new European Record of 71.08 seconds at the age of 80, is nothing short of awe-inspiring.

Rachel Akers from Ennis Track, competing in the W35 category, mirrored McDermott's success with a triple gold triumph in the Hammer, Discus, and Weight Throw events. Meanwhile, Ann Woodlock of Donore Harriers, in the W85 category, displayed unparalleled dominance by securing double gold in the 1,500m and 3,000m races.

Annette Kealy of Raheny emerged as another double gold medalist, showcasing her prowess in both track and cross-country events. Kealy secured gold in the 3000m on the track and demonstrated her endurance by conquering the 8k Cross-country event.

Joe Gough of West Waterford left spectators in awe with his tactical brilliance, setting a new European record of 2:23.41 in the 800m race and claiming gold in the 1500m event.

Additionally, the husband-wife duo, Maggie and John O'Connor of Enniscorthy AC, made history by being part of the Mixed 4x200m relay team, along with teammates David Stewart and Carol Kearney.

The comprehensive list of Irish medal winners is as follows:


Rachel Akers – Ennis Track (W35) x 3 – Hammer, Discus, Weight Throw

Ann Woodlock – Donore Harriers (W85) x 2 – 1500m and 3000m

Annette Kealy – Raheny (W55) x 2 – 3000m and 8k Cross-country

Edel Maguire – Clonliffe (W60) – 400m

Dee Collins – Ennis Track (W35) - Marathon

Catherine O’Connor – Sli Cualann (W45) – Marathon

Mary Slocum – Ward Park (W60) - Marathon

Fiona Gettings – Longford (W40) – 8k Cross-country

Team (W55) – Annette Kealy – Raheny, Carmel Crowley – Bandon, Kay Byrne – Finn Valley

John MacDermott – Sligo AC (M80) x 3 – 400m, 60mH and Pentathlon

Joe Gough – West Waterford (M70) x 2 – 800m & 1500m

Martin McEvilly – Galway City Harriers (M75) – 6k Cross-country

Brian Lynch – North East Runners (M70) – 6k Cross-country

Declan Toal – North East Runners and Dublin Track Club – 8k Cross-country

Team (M75) – Martin McEvilly – Galway City Harriers, Richard Mullins – St Abbans, Sean McMullin (Mullingar)

Team (M70) – Michael O’Connor – Farranfore Maine Valley, Sean McMullin – Mullingar Harriers, David Kissane – St Brendan’s AC


Fiona Gettings – Longford (W40) – 3000m

Catriona Devine – Finn Valley (W50) – 1500m

Michelle Cox – Newbridge (W40) – 8k Cross-country

Breda Gaffney – Mallow (W50) – 8k Cross-country

Sinead McConnell – Finn Valley (W55) x 2 – 3000m Walk and 5000m Walk (Road)

Mary Barrett – Loughrea (W65) – Shot Put

Team (W40) – Fionna Gettings – Longford, Michelle Cox – Newbridge, Aoife Parella (Star of the Sea) – 8k Cross-country

Team (W45) – Catherine O’Connor – Sli Cualann, Annmarie Kenny – Parnell AC , Mary Slocum – Ward Park – Marathon

Team (Mixed 60) – Shane Sheridan – DSD, Edel Maguire – Clonliffe, Tim Ryan – Dooneen AC, Finola Moore - Celbridge

Kieran Kelly – Raheny (M35) – 1500m

Conor Curran – North Belfast Harriers – 1500m

Brian Lynch – North East Runners (M70) – 3000m

Francois Kulik – Sli Cualann (M40) – High Jump

Jim O’Shea – Farranfore Maine Valley (M80) – Long Jump

Michael O’Connor – Farranfore Maine Valley – 3000m Walk

Sean McMullin – Mullingar Harriers (M75) – 5000m Walk (Road)

Team (M70)– Brian Lynch (North East Runners); Terry O’Hare (Newry), Mick Priest (Fr Murphy) - 6k Cross-country


Gemma Thompson – City of Derry (W35) x 2 in 60m and 200m

Bronwen McDonald – St Laurence O’Tooles – 400m

Ann Wynne – Carrick-on Shannon (W55) – 800m

Michelle Cox – Newbridge (W40) – 3000m

Siobheal Murray – Rathoath AC (W55) – High Jump

Geraldine Finegan – North East Runners (W55) - Javelin

Geraldine Finegan – North East Runners (W55) - Pentathlon

Carmel Crowley – Bandon AC (W55) – 8k Cross-country

Edel Maguire – Clonliffe (W60) – 200m

Kay Byrne – Finn Valley (W60) – 8k Cross-country

Team (W50) – Breda Gaffney - Mallow; Michelle Lannon – Carrick-on-Shannon and Aoife Cowhie – Crusaders – 8k Cross-country

Team (W50) – Sinead McConnell – Finn Valley, Anne Gormley – Donore, Deirdre O’Doherty – Drumshanbo AC - 5k Walk (Road)

Team (W55) – Moira Groome – Trim, Carol Kearney – Lucan Harriers, Katherine Markey – Clonliffe, Darr Carr – LSA – 4x200m Relay

Jim O’Shea – Farranfore Maine Valley (M80) – High Jump

Shane Sheridan – DSD (M65) – 60m

Michael Grace – Dunboyne (M40) - Hammer

Michael O’Connor – Farranfore Maine Valley (M70) – 5000m Walk (Road)

Sean McMullin – Mullingar Harriers (M75) – 3000m Walk

Team (Mixed 55) – David Hayde – St Laurence O’Tooles, Moira Groome – Trim, Michael Counsel – Trim, Dara Carr – LSA – 4x200m Relay

Team (M70) – John MacDermott – Sligo AC, Ken Higgs – Eagle AC, Mick Priest – Fr Murphys, Matt Slattery - Clonliffe

Team Ireland's performance at the 2024 European Masters Athletics – Indoor Championships exemplifies the nation's rich sporting heritage and unwavering spirit. The dedication and commitment exhibited by the athletes have not only brought glory to their country but also served as an inspiration for future generations of athletes to keep their dreams alive!

As these remarkable athletes return home adorned with medals and accolades, they carry with them the pride and admiration of a nation grateful for their outstanding contributions to Irish Athletics.

Featured Image: Ronan Gately