Dundrum AC Club Notes: County Novice B Road Championships and Juvenile Track and Field Success

April 29, 2024


The County Novice B Road Championships were held on Sunday, April 28 in Fethard Town Park and hosted by Fethard AC. We had 9 athletes compete on a nice dry day. To be eligible for this race you had to have run in the Novice A this year and have never won the Novice B previously. The first three in the women's and first eight in the men's Novice A were ineligible. The women raced over 3km. Catherine Fogarty continued her fantastic form to claim Silver in a very fast time of 11:40. She was followed by 9th Emily Leahy 12:50 and 10th Mairead Julian 12:53. The women won Silver in the team event. The men raced over 6km. John Ryan who has come on leaps and bounds within the last year had a superb race to claim Gold in 21:01, 32 seconds clear of second place. Gerry O'Neill also had a fantastic race to claim Bronze in 21:43 and 9th Darren Allison 22:13. These 3 won Gold in the team event. Next, we had 19th William Keane 24:02, 20th Darren Gayson 24:06 and 21st Val Farrell 24:18. These 3 placed 6th in the team event. Fantastic running by all. Our men have now claimed the Cup in the Novice A, Novice B, Intermediate, Senior, Masters O35 this year, a massive achievement by them all.


The Moyne Open Juvenile Track and Field was held on Saturday, April 27 in Moyne. We had 30 athletes in action on the day which was cold but dry for the most part. We had a number of medal winners. The first winner was Harry Creedon who won the Boys U10 Long Jump, he also won the Bronze in the 60m. Sean Fitzgerald won Silver in the Boys 60m. Thomas Ryan, Darragh Ryan, Billy Ryan and Ollie Crowe also competed well in the Boys U10. Our next medal winner was Aine O'Neill in the Girls U13 Shot Putt. Katelyn Shanahan won Gold and Lilly Creedon won Silver in the Girls U13 500m . Ellen Maher won the Silver in the Girls U12 500m. Our other U12 Girls Lucy Roche, Ruby McGrath, May Moloney and Bella Curling all competed well. In the U14 Boys Albert Maher won Silver in the 600m and Long Jump. His sister Ruby won silver in the Girls 16+ 800m. Others who gave their best were Isla Ryan and Emma Fitzgerald both making their club debut in the Girls U8. Tegan O'Neill and Grace Kelly in the Girls U10 and Leah Shanahan, Ciara Hall and Shona Ryan who won her 300m heat. Robbie Kelly, Tadgh O'Neill and Gearoid Shanahan did well in the Boys U9, as did Eoghan O'Neill and Ruaidhri O'Neill in the Boys U11. Patrick Casey in the Boys U12 and Micheal Ryan in the Boys U13 also performed well in their respective events. The next outing will be the County Juvenile Championships which will be held in Templemore on the 11th and 12th of May.


The Hespa Hamburg Marathon was held on Sunday, April 28. Barry Hartnett made the trip to Germany to compete in preparation for some upcoming international mountain running duties. The conditions were hot and windy and Barry had an amazing time of 2:37:53 and placed 75th.


The 46th edition of the Lucerne City Run was held on Saturday evening, April 27 in Switzerland. It had a huge field of 13,774 runners. The race was 7km and the route takes you down the narrow cobbled streets of old town with many steep hills with an elevation almost 500m. The weather was lovely. Aisling Ryan had a fantastic race to finish 3rd woman in a time of 26:31.


Our very popular BK5K race will take place on Wednesday, 1st of May at 8pm. The perfect 5km race that's flat and fast, whether it's your first 5km or you're chasing a PB it is ideal for everyone. You can register at the following link: https://eventmaster.ie/event/MdBETbdiBz for €15. On the night registration is €20. Collection of race numbers on the night from Dundrum Community Hall (former Scouts Hall). Spread the word.

Featured Image: Dundrum AC at the County Novice B Road Championships where the men won Gold and the women won Silver in Fethard. Back L-R Back: John Ryan (individual gold), Emily Leahy, Darren Allison, William Keane and Val Farrell. Front L-R: Darren Gayson, Catherine Fogarty (individual silver), Mairead Julian and Gerry O'Neill (individual Bronze).

Related News