Nine Athletes Selected For Ireland At World Indoor Championships

February 20, 2024

Nine athletes have been selected to represent Ireland at the World Indoor Championships which will take place in Glasgow from March 1st to 3rd. 

The fastest man in the country Israel Olatunde is the only male who will travel with the team to Scotland. The Tallaght AC sprinter recently defended his 60m title at the National Indoor Championships this past weekend.

Other Indoor Championship winners are included in the form of Newport AC's Sharlene Mawdsley who was victorious in the 400m along with Sarah Lavin of Emerald AC who ran out winner in the 60m hurdles.

Sarah Healy of U.C.D AC continues to impress having broken the Irish Senior Indoor 1500m record this month and books her place amongst the travelling squad.

The Women's 4x400m team is made up of Sharlene Mawdsley alongside Sophie Becker (Raheny Shamrock AC), Phil Healy (Bandon AC), Roisin Harrison (Emerald AC), Rachel McCann (North Down AC), and Lauren Cadden (Sligo AC). 

Fans can watch all of the action as the World Indoor Championships will be shown on Virgin Media. 

Following the announcement, High Performance Director Paul McNamara said;

“This is an exceptionally accomplished group of athletes that head to Glasgow. They will be looking to make an impact at this highly competitive championships, and are well positioned to do so. 2024 sees a busy championship schedule for many, with the Olympic Games the obvious target for all, and with World Indoors, World Relays, and European Championships key staging posts along the way." 

"With that in mind, several athletes have opted to skip indoors, or end their season early to focus preparation on the summer months ahead with Ciara Mageean, Rhasidat Adeleke and Andrew Coscoran included amongst them. It’s a strong refection of the strength in depth in Irish athletics currently that we have several potential finalists or better in this squad.”

Full selection list

Sarah Healy (U.C.D AC) - 1500m

Sarah Lavin (Emerald AC) - 60m Hurdles

Israel Olatunde (Tallaght AC) - 60m

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport AC) - 400m & 4x400m

Sophie Becker (Raheny Shamrocks AC) - 4x400m

Phil Healy (Bandon AC) - 4x400m

Roisin Harrison (Emerald AC) - 4x400m

Rachel McCann (North Down AC) - 4x400m

Lauren Cadden (Sligo AC) - 4x400m *subject to form & fitness

Non travelling relay reserve

Niamh Murray (Bray AC) - 4x400m

Related News